Group Members

Principal Investigator:

Prof. Dipendu Saha, PhD

photo saha_faculty

Postdoctoral Research: Materials Science and Technology Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), USA, 2010-2013.

PhD (Hons.): New Mexico State University (USA) 2009

M.S.: Jadavpur University (India), 2006

B.S.: Vidyasagar University (India), 2003


Graduate Students (current)


Collin Unsworth 

M.S. Thesis: Adsorption of Rare earth elements in DNA-grafted nanoporous carbons



Brandon Toof

M.S. Thesis: Separation of light olefins in silver-grafted nanoporous carbons



Tyler J. Hoinkis

M.S. Project: Electrospinning of Photocatalyst nanofibers


Undergraduate Students (current)

Pasquale Gismondi

Research topic: Synthesis of functionalized nanoporous carbons

Marisa Comroe

Research Topic: Silver-grafted nanoporous carbons for paraffin-olefin separation

Group Alumni

Graduate Students:

(1) Mathew M. Desipio (M.S. Thesis)

Thesis Topic:  Nanocomposite carbon nitride for visible light photocatalysis in energy efficient photoreactor 

(2) Micheal Visconti (M.S. Thesis)

Thesis Topic: Nanocomposite of graphene and carbon nitride  for inactivation of antibiotic resistance gene under visible light.  

(3) Sel Didem Akkoyunlu (M.S. Thesis)

Thesis Topic: Adsorption of rare-earth elements from water in phosphorous functionalized microporous carbons

(4) Soukaina Barakat (M.S. Thesis)

Thesis Topic: Sulfur doped mesoporous carbons for adsorptive removal of heavy-metals from water

(5) Babitha Tom (M.S. Project)

Project topic: Low pressure methane adsorption in micro-mesoporous carbons


Undergraduate Students

Madeleine J. Kienbaum (Independent study Course,Widener University)

Matthew M. Desipio (Independent study Course,Widener University)

Griffin Walawander (Research Co-op) 

Nathan Mirando (Summer Research Program)

Sam Yohanan (Research Assistant, ACS-PRF)

Marc Noyalis (Research Assistant, ACS-PRF)

Erika Enley (Research Co-op) 

Marie Herb (Summer Research Program) 

Nick Striebach (Summer Research Program) 

Nichole Dantoni (Research Assistant, work-study program under Widener University)

Tara Moken (Independent study Course, Widener University)

Amanda Spurri (Independent study Course, Widener University)

Mitchell Franko (Independent study Course,Widener University)

Lauren Benham (Independent study Course,Widener University)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s